BUFFALO, N.Y. (WIVB) — More than one-third of the counties in New York have been declared natural disaster areas amid the Summer drought.

What this means is that farmers in the affected counties may be eligible for assistance from the federal government. Assistance will be based on farmers’ crop loss during the season.

In western New York, Erie, Niagara, Wyoming and Genesee counties were declared primary natural disaster areas. They are among 15 counties in this categorization.

Allegany, Cattaraugus Orleans and Chautauqua counties were named as contiguous disaster counties.

“Strong agriculture is critical to the vibrancy of Upstate New York and this year’s hot, dry summer have created significant challenges to this crucial industry,” Gov. Andrew Cuomo said. “From Western New York to the North Country, New York’s growers and producers are major drivers of our economy and the benefits they provide to the community are immeasurable. In these difficult times, we must ensure that they have full access to all the resources necessary for making a full recovery.”

Additional counties could later be designated as natural disaster areas.