Assemblyman David DiPietro, a Republican from East Aurora, has introduced a bill that would create a constitutional amendment to split New York State into three autonomous regions.

Now, people are able to sign a petition to support this bill.

The three regions would include: 

New York – Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, and Richmond counties 

Montauk – Nassau, Suffolk, Rockland, and Westchester counties 

New Amsterdam – every county north of Westchester county

In a news release, DiPietro states that each region would elect its own governor, legislature, and judicial wing to be responsible for its own management. 

DiPietro has clarified that the regions would not be three separate states. For federal purposes, New York would remain as one state. 

He said that under his proposal, New York State would maintain its 2 U.S. Senators and 29 electoral votes (subject to change based on population). 

DiPietro told News 4 that the move to have Upstate New York separate from Downstate would make the region “redder than Texas.”

MORE | Find the petition here.