BUFFALO, N.Y. (WIVB) — Friday at Noon, the Niagara Frontier Transportation Authority (NFTA) will restore bus service to routes outside of Erie County’s travel ban.

Currently, the areas under a travel ban are:

  • Buffalo (from William St. south to Lackawanna)
  • Cheektowaga
  • Lancaster
  • Alden
  • West Seneca
  • Elma
  • Marilla
  • Hamburg
  • Orchard Park
  • Aurora
  • Wales
  • Evans
  • Eden
  • Boston

The travel ban was put in place as a snowstorm started to make its way through western New York. The rest of Erie County is under a travel advisory.

“Safety for both our operators and passengers is important,” NFTA Communications Manager Kelly Khatib said during the morning. “We are continuing to monitor the situation.”

Bus routes 50, 52, 55 and 59 in Niagara County are continuing to operate as normal. The lake-effect snow warning in that county doesn’t take effect until 7 p.m.

Meanwhile, in Erie County, a lake-effect snow warning is already in place.

Paratransit service has not been suspended, but riders are asked to reschedule if possible.

4WARN FORECAST | See the latest weather alerts here.

CLOSINGS | See our full list of closures across WNY here.

Latest Posts

Evan Anstey is an Associated Press Award, JANY Award and Emmy-nominated digital producer who has been part of the News 4 team since 2015. See more of his work here and follow him on Twitter.