BUFFALO, N.Y. (WIVB) — In reaction to the coronavirus pandemic, a State of Emergency has been declared in four western New York counties — Erie, Niagara, Chautauqua and Cattaraugus.

During a state of emergency, local governments are permitted to take action, such as spending money, in circumstances where dire help is needed. Typically, local municipalities and states will receive extra federal aid.

The three counties issued their declarations on Sunday afternoon, Erie being the first. Niagara and Cattaraugus followed hours later.

In Erie County, seven cases of coronavirus have been confirmed. The three people who contracted it are quarantined at their homes in Buffalo, Grand Island and Clarence.

Within Erie County, the towns of Amherst and Tonawanda have also declared a State of Emergency. Amherst’s is in effect through April 14, while Tonawanda’s will last through March 20.

Buffalo issued a State of Emergency later that day. Grand Island and Fredonia followed on Monday.

No cases have been confirmed in Niagara or Cattaraugus, but 12 people are quarantined in the former.