For 50th anniversary, M&T Bank Plaza Event Series hosts instrument drive

Local News

M&T Bank’s Plaza Event Series is celebrating its 50th year of bringing music and entertainment downtown during lunchtime- and to celebrate, they’re making it easier for local students to develop their own musical talent. 

A musical instrument drive will be held during the daily weekday concerts for the first week- starting June 10.

The drive will continue in M&T’s branch on the ground floor of One M&T Plaza throughout the series, which runs through Aug. 23. 

The instruments will be donated to students in the Buffalo Public School District next school year. 

“When you have a great team, you think about how music is a way to teach leadership and listening,” Peter Eliopoulos, chief marketing and communications officer for M&T Bank said. “Kids will always have a need for instruments,” 

Gently used instruments of any kind will be accepted- from violins to bassoons. 

They will be distributed to students in the BPS District, mainly among elementary and junior high students. 

“It depends on the instrument and where the need is,” Eliopoulos said. 

The instrument drive is one of several things M&T is doing to celebrate the 50th anniversary of its Plaza Concert Series. 

The employees who organized this year’s series created a playlist of “songs of the summer” from the past 50 years, which can be found on Spotify. 

A special celebration party will be held for the series’ kick off, June 10 at noon. 

Eliopoulos said that the series has expanded over the years, incorporating more of a variety of acts. 

“Everything from quartets to breakdancing,” he said. 

One M&T Plaza, which opened in 1967, was designed by architect Minoru Yamasaki with community in mind. 

“This plaza that you’re on, Yamasaki designed this plaza for that reason, so we’re psyched to be able to do it for 50 years,” Eliopoulos said. 

Events are held from noon to 1 p.m. each weekday at One M&T Plaza, except for the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra on July 23, which begins at 11:45 a.m. 

Acts for the 2019 series are as follows. 

Monday, June 10 – Joyryde & The Hitmen Horns

Tuesday, June 11 – Ramblin’ Lou Family Band from WXRL Radio

Wednesday, June 12 – Westminster Community Charter School

Thursday, June 13 – The Frankfurters

Friday, June 14 – Big Wheelie & The Hubcaps

Monday, June 17 – Old School B-Boys

Tuesday, June 18 – Beatlemagic

Wednesday, June 19 – The Doug Yeomans Band

Thursday, June 20 – Only Humen

Friday, June 21 – West of the Mark

Monday, June 24 – The Bobby Militello Quartet

Tuesday, June 25 – Mark Mazur and “The Little Big Band”

Wednesday, June 26 – SuperCharger

Thursday, June 27 – Flipside

Friday, June 28 – XOXO

Monday, July 1 – Lithium

Tuesday, July 2 – The Scott Celani Band

Wednesday, July 3 –Mike Randall & Friends / Zoomobile

Thursday, July 4 – Bank holiday to observe Independence Day, no performance

Friday, July 5 – Quintessential Phunk

Monday, July 8 – Will Holton

Tuesday, July 9 – Allykat

Wednesday, July 10 – The Chicago Authority

Thursday, July 11 – Breakaway

Friday, July 12 – Carnival Kids Steel Orchestra

Monday, July 15 – Boys of Summer

Tuesday, July 16 – Dave Constantino Band

Wednesday, July 17 – Tom Stahl and The Dangerfields

Thursday, July 18 – Bar-room Buzzards

Friday, July 19 – Unity Band

Monday, July 22 – Disco Duck 

Tuesday, July 23 – Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra (Note: Show begins at 11:45a.m.)

Wednesday, July 24 – Broken Strings 

Thursday, July 25 – Caribbean Extravaganza 

Friday, July 26 – Angel Vox 

Monday, July 29 – JJ Swing 

Tuesday, July 30 – Queen City Swing 

Wednesday, July 31 – The Kensingtons 

Thursday, August 1 – “In Jest” Comedy Variety Show with Nels Ross 

Friday, August 2 – Denzel Ward & The Cool Platinum Band 

Monday, August 5 – Back to the Bars 

Tuesday, August 6 – Jim Tudini Big Band 

Wednesday, August 7 – The Lake Effect 

Thursday, August 8 – Creek Bend 

Friday, August 9 – African American Cultural Center’s Dance & Drum Performance Company

Monday, August 12 – The Soul Providers 

Tuesday, August 13 – Pointless Brothers 

Wednesday, August 14 – Colleen Williams & The Bobby Jones Trio 

Thursday, August 15 – McCarthyizm 

Friday, August 16 – Terry Buchwald’s Tribute to Elvis 

Monday, August 19 – David Kane’s Them Jazzbeards 

Tuesday, August 20 – Joseph Michael Mahfoud Band 

Wednesday, August 21 – The Tommy Z Band 

Thursday, August 22 – Taylor Made Jazz 

Friday, August 23 – Total Eclipse & The Buffalo Horns

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss