MISSISSIPPI (WJW) — Those who contract COVID-19 in Mississippi are being asked to either isolate at home for 10 days or more or otherwise face a prison sentence of up to five years.
The new order was issued by the Mississippi State Department of Health on Friday as cases continue to mount in the state.
Since coronavirus can be life-threatening, those who don’t comply with the alert could also potentially face a $5,000 fine along with prison time.
Mississippi is one of the least vaccinated states in the country, with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reporting that only about 38% of the eligible population is fully vaccinated.
The order went into effect on Friday.
Read the full order below:
- ‘Soul-crushing’: COVID deaths hit more than 1,900 a day for the first time since March
- New COVID-19 cases decline globally, WHO reports
- Highest COVID positivity rates in Erie County are among children
- WATCH: Hochul talks #VaxToSchool
- WATCH LIVE: Governor Hochul on vaccination rate among school-aged New Yorkers