More than 3,600 adoptees file for birth certificates in first 48 hours of new state law

Around New York State

A new law that gives adoptees in New York State has had a successful first few days.

It’s been in active since January 15 and so far there’s more than 3,600 applications for birth records.

Adoptees can apply online or just make a phone call. The process could take about 4 to 6 weeks to complete.

To apply visit: https://www.health.ny.gov/vital_records/preadoption.htm

Who can apply for pre- adoption birth certificate?

An adoptee has to be 18 years or older, direct line descendants of adoptee like child, grandchild or great grandchild, a lawful representative of the adopted person, or a lawful representative of a deceased adopted person’s direct descendant

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Fish Fry

Trending Stories

Don't Miss