BUFFALO, N.Y. (WIVB) — Five boys basketball players from local schools received first-team all-state recognition from the New York State Sportswriters Association, and three were selected to second teams.

Canisius senior Shane Cercone was named to the top team in Class A after averaging 26.5 points and setting the Crusaders all-time scoring mark.

Lewiston-Porter senior Jalen Duff made the first team in Class B after leading the Lancers to a Section VI title. One of the top five all-time scorers in Western New York history (2,291 points), Duff led Section VI averaging 27.8 points this past season.

Randolph teammates Carson Conley and Drew Hind were first-team selections in Class C, having helped the Cardinals claim the first state championship in school history. Conly, a senior, averaged 18.1 points, and Hind, a sophomore, averaged 17.1.

Westfield sophomore Carson Swanson made the Class D first team, having averaged 27.7 points on the season.

Niagara Falls senior James Robinson was picked for the Class AA second-team after leading the Wolverines to a Section VI title in his lone season with the Wolverines.

Bishop Timon-St. Jude junior Jaiden Harrison was a second-team selection in Class A, and Salamanca junior Lucas Brown made the second team in Class B.

Additional local players receiving all-state recognition were:

Class AA

Amir Moye (Health Sciences), fourth team; Trey Drake (Jamestown), fifth team; Xavier Benton (Health Sciences), eight team; Nate Errington (Frontier), 10th team; Grayson White (Clarence), 12th team; Nation Howard (15th team); Jack Harrington (Lancaster), 16th team; Kyree Jones (Lockport), honorable mention; Sean Paige (Jamestown), honorable mention; Omarion Ralands (Niagara Falls), honorable mention; Davon Wade (Niagara Falls), honorable mention.

Class A

Xander Fletcher (Niagara Wheatfield), third team; Jakye Rainey (Nichols), fifth team; Jordan Alexander (Amherst), seventh team; Jacob Humphrey (Timon), eighth team; Nakyhi Harris (Timon), 11th team; Mekhi Williams (McKinley), 12th team; Nick Moore (Amherst), 13th team; Patrick McNeill (North Tonawanda), 16th team; Luke Granto (Canisius), 16th team; Niccolo DiGiulio (Williamsville South), 17th team; Dorian Facen (Williamsville East), honorable mention;  Sam Greco (St. Joe’s), honorable mention; Sammy Marry (St. Francis), honorable mention; Isaiah Odom (St. Joe’s), honorable mention; Logan Reaska (St. Francis), honorable mention.

Class B

Jamel Johnson Jr. (Royalton-Hartland), third team; Matthew Pannes (Southwestern), fifth team; Bobby Beilein (Lewiston-Porter), seventh team; Ethan Fry (Fredonia), eighth team; Zack Phillips (Cleveland Hill), 13th team; Anthony DeCapua (Allegany-Limestone), 15th team; Andy Herrick (Salamanca), 17th team; Julienn Clements (Lackawanna), 18th team; Jack DeRose (Olean), honorable mention; Jack DeRose (Olean), honorable mention; Justus Kleitz (Iroquois), honorable mention; Daryl Montgomery (Cheektowaga), honorable mention; Evan Myers (Newfane), honorable mention; Sam Platt (Pioneer), honorable mention; Davion White (Fredonia), honorable mention

Class C

Jaiden Huntington (Randolph), fourth team; Ray Cortes (Silver Creek), fifth team; Shamere Davis (MST Seneca), sixth team; Liam Ormsby (Cahautauqua Lake), seventh team; Gavin Smith (Frewsburg), ninth team; Zack Carr (Frewsburg), honorable mention; Connor Murray (Frewsburg), honorable mention; Brady Wiskup (Holland), honorable mention

Class D

Derek Ebersole (North Collins), fourth team; Blake Kopta (Clymer), fifth team; Austin White (Clymer), sixth team; Carter Brink (Panama), eighth team; Luey Castro (Barker), honorable mention; Braden Hayes (Sherman), honorable mention; Bryce Hinsdale (Panama) honorable mention; Braydan Smith (Forestville), honorable mention; Matt Sweet (North Collins), honorable mention


Jonah Bronstein joined the News 4 roster in 2022 as a digital sports reporter. Read more of his work here.