Wright Scores 5 TD as Southwestern Wins Class C Championship

High School Sports

Southwestern running back Tywon Wright tied a stadium playoff record with 5 touchdowns as Southwestern defeated Wilson 53-21 to win the Section 6 Class C Championship.

Southwestern took an early lead in a back and forth first half when Wright scampered into the end zone from just outside the red zone to give the Trojans the 7-0 lead. Wilson answered a drive later when Drew Westmorland made his way into the end zone on a third and goal.

The Trojans went back on top when Wright found a hole, and ran 80 yards to the house. The Lakemen would respond when Westmorland found Jared Jaques for the score. Both teams were knotted 14-14 at the half.

In the opening minutes of the second half, Wright would score his third touchdown of the game after he broke a tackle and ran for 66 yards. But Wilson’s Westmorland showed he had speed of his own as he broke free for 75 yards and a touchdown to tie the game at 21.

Wilson would score four more touchdowns as Wright added two, and Zishaun Munir and Brayden Dunlap each added one a piece.

Southwestern will face the winner of Le Roy/ Warsaw/Letchworth Saturday, November 16th at noon at SUNY Brockport.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

NBA Stats

Trending Stories

Don't Miss